Reading?! Yes, it can be FUN.

Image

Imagine yourself facing this square thing right in front of you. It is not that thick; it is just a bundle of papers. Yes, it can be your textbook or story book. Hesitating you open the first page, initiating to read, but then the urge to read is evaporating. The thought of reading itself seems tiring and boring let alone facing a thick-encyclopedic book. Well, pretty sure many of us feel that way towards reading, the reluctance of reading.

However, since we live in the so called “The Information Age”, reading is compulsory. So how do we tackle this problem? How to ease the reluctance and laziness to read? How to develop your desire to read? Well here I give you one tip that works really well for me. Believe it or not I was one of those people who used to think that reading is a waste of time, yet now I am all about reading and can’t get enough of reading for one day.

Looking back at my childhood experience, I would laugh at myself seeing myself with books, the same way as I see myself becoming a writer. I was not the type of the kids who liked to read even the story book type. But I do love comics, I enjoy them very very much. Reading comics is my limit of reading. Then, one day, my brother brought this story book with this really weird nerd boy on the cover. Yes, it was one of the Harry Potter books. He borrowed it from one of his friends and recommended me to read one too. I was like, “Hello! Like you don’t know me.” Can you imagine how thick it was for me?

Despite my reluctance of reading, yet I did read the novel. The first start is always the hardest part. I was hesitant, turning the front and the back cover, and without realizing I had finished the whole book. With my surprise, I even enjoyed reading it. It took me to another world, the world where magic and wizards existed. It stimulated my crave for imagination, exploration and adventure and started wandering in the new world. I was absorbed into this new enjoyment. I like the sensation I had from reading, my imagination and being able to mind-wander/travel. Since then, I began to like reading and reading more and more books, especially novels.

Learning from the experience, I realized one of the ways to develop our interest in reading. It is the “fun”. Pick yourself a story book with a topic or a genre you like. Just a light reading for fun and pleasure. Do not stress yourself reading the “heavy” one for a start. Then, let your imagination wander as you explore your “new world” while reading. Imagine yourself being on the spaceship, exploring the new galaxy and meeting new creatures. Enjoy your own adventure. The more you practice this, the more you get used to yourself with reading. And perhaps at the end, reading might be your new hobby and it might not seem that tiring and boring anymore.

I know the saying “easy said than done”, but if you never really try it, how will you know? Do not limit yourself with assumption and perception that block you to be better, to a new adventure. Give it a try and a practice. Should you later fail at first attempt on trying your reading, giving the second try won’t hurt you. So are you ready to start your adventure?

Happy reading, guys.

Leave a comment